Home News ‘National Bravery Awards’ now Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar 2019

‘National Bravery Awards’ now Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar 2019

0 comment

On Republic Day 2019, the children under 16 years of Age were supposed to be honoured with the National Bravery Award 2019. But before the Republic Day Parade, a raging controversy appeared in that bring an end to the tradition being carried out since 1957.

What is National Bravery Awards?

Every year, National Bravery Awards (now renamed as Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar) are presented to the children below 16 years who showed their bravery to save the lives of others without bothering about their own life. In this list, children are also honoured posthumously. Since 1957, the children were selected by the Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW).

Getting deep into the history of National Bravery Awards, this award was firstly announced by the late PM Pandit Jawahar Lal Nehru. In 1957, then PM Jawahar Lal Nehru witnessed an incident when a child “Harish Chandra Mehra” showed his bravery and saved the lives of PM as well as other people present at that time.

Different Types of National Bravery Awards [OLD FORMAT]:

There is not a single award which is presented under the National Bravery Awards. There are multiple award categories that are mentioned below:

  • Bharat Award: The Brave award was introduced in 1987 for children who showed exceptionally outstanding gallantry deeds.
  • Geeta Chopra Award: It was introduced in 1978 for girl Bravehearts.
  • Sanjay Chopra Award: It was introduced in 1978 for boy Bravehearts.
  • Bapu Gaidhani Awards: This award was started in 1988 which is given to three children.
  • General Awards: It was started in 1957.

Different Types of Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar 2019 [NEW FORMAT]:

This year, the new format of Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar 2019 will encompass different categories as compared to the previous one. Below is the list of categories

  • Innovation (six awards)
  • Scholastic (three awards)
  • Social service (three awards)
  • Art and culture (five awards)
  • Sports (six awards)
  • Bravery (three awards).

Government’s Action on National Bravery Award 2019:

As the Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW) was questioned on the basis of its financial integrity, the government has started working on its own selection procedure. The questioning was made during a hearing of a writ petition in the Delhi High Court.

The government has now made a gap with the ICCW and is started working on its own scheme for National Bravery Awards. Under their new scheme, the combined scheme is named as “Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar” and National Bravery Awards are going to be one of its components.

The government even advertised this selection procedure on 1st August 2018 for which it even advertised to receive the names and now it’s almost prepared for it.

National Bravery Award now Bal Shakti Puraskar:

From 2019, the National bravery Award is going to be named as Bal Shakti Puraskar. Along with that National Child Welfare Award is also renamed as Bal Kalyan Puraskar.

The awardees will be honoured with a medal along with a cash price of Rs. 100000, a certificate, a citation along with the book vouchers worth Rs. 10,000

List of Children Selected for National Bravery Awards 2019:

As per the information shared on Swikblog, a list of brave children has been released who are going to be honoured with the National Bravery Awards 2019. Below is the list of National bravery Awards 2019.

  • Guru Himapriya – 8-year-old
  • Soumya Dip Jana – 13-year-old boy
  • Late Nitisha Negi (Posthumously)- a 15-year-old girl from Delhi
  • Camelia Kathy Kharbyngar – A 12-year-old girl from Meghalaya
  • Setu Malik – a 15-year-old boy from state Odisha
  • Kanti – a 7-year-old girl from Mohanpur village of Chhattisgarh
  • Hritik Sahu, Jhagendra Sahu, and Shrikant Ganjir – All these three children from Chhattisgarh
  • Wahengbam Lamnganba Singh – A 15-year-old boy from a remote village of Manipur
  • Divyansh Singh – a 14-year-old boy from Lucknow

  • 7

Related Articles

Leave a Comment