What Is Full Form Of CISF

    The CISF (Central Industrial Security) security umbrella includes India’s most critical infrastructure facilities like nuclear installations, space establishments, airports, seaports, power plants etc. In addition, the CISF also protects important government buildings, iconic heritage monuments and the Delhi Metro. The CISF also has a specialized VIP Security vertical providing round-the-clock security to important protectees.

    For more details click on the official website:

    CISF Official Logo

    History of CISF:

    The CISF is governed by the Union Ministry of Home Affairs, and its headquarters are in New Delhi.


    The CISF is headed by an Indian Police Service officer with the rank of Director-General

    In 1969 CISF came into existence to provide integrated security to the public sector with a strength of only 3 battalions. At present the force has grown into a multi-skilled organization with a strength of 1,77,075 personnel.

    The CISF also has its own Fire Wing which provides services to 114 of the above establishments.

    CISF is divided into Nine Sectors (Airport, North, North-East, East, West, South, Training, South-East, Central).

    On the 19th of February 2009 in Rajya Sabha and on the 25th of February 2009 in Lok Sabha the government passed the bill, providing security to the private and cooperative sector with the CISF Bill 2008. Then CISF started providing security to the private sector of company Infosys, Bengaluru on the 31st of July 2009. After that Security forces can be provided to the different companies as well.

    For enhancement of security infrastructure at airports, some of the technologies deployed and proposed for deployment include Computer Tomography Explosive Detection Systems (CT-EDS) machines and Dual Generator X-BIS machines.

    Key points of CISF:

    • Providing the Security to the Corporate sector.
    • Airport security
    • Fire wing (Protection against the Fire Hazards).
    • Providing the security to the VIP Person.
    • Security allotted in the Delhi Metro.
    • CISF women also be part of this defence system now.
    • Dog Squad for detection of Explosive and narcotics smuggling.

    Rank structure (Gazetted Officers – CISF, Police and Army Ranks)

    CISF Rank Insignia
    Director General (DG)DG, CISFDirector General of a State Police ForceLieutenant General (Level 17)
    Additional Director General (ADG)C.P, ADGLieutenant General (Level 16)
    Inspector General (IG)IG, Joint C.PMajor General (Level 14)
    Deputy Inspector General (DIG)Additional C.P, DIGBrigadier (Level 13A)
    Senior CommandantSSP/DCP, IPS,(Senior Administrative Grade)Colonel (Level 13)
    CommandantSP/DCP, IPS, (Junior administrative Grade)Major/Lt Col (Level 12/12A)
    Deputy Commandant (Dy Comdt)SP/DCP, IPS (Senior Time scale)Capt (Level 11)
    Assistant Commandant (Asst Comdt)Deputy superintendent of Police, IPS, (Junior Time Scale)Lieutenant (Level 10)