Global Statistics

All countries
Updated on October 26, 2021 5:47 pm
All countries
Updated on October 26, 2021 5:47 pm
All countries
Updated on October 26, 2021 5:47 pm

List of Air Chief Marshal of India (1947-2021)

On 30th of September Air Marshal VR Chaudhari took charge as the new Air Chief Marshal from Air Chief Marshal RKS Bhadauria. With this promotion, he become the 27th Air Chief of India.

Who Is Air Chief Marshal?

The Chief of the Air Staff or Air Chief Marshal is the head of military staff of the Indian Air Force. The COAS is the leader of the governing body of the Air Force and is usually the highest-ranking officer of the Air Force.

List of Air Chief Marshal of India

No.NameRankAppointment DateLeft Office
1Sir Thomas Walker ElmhirstAir Marshal15 Aug 194721 Feb 1950
2Ronald Ivelaw ChapmanAir Marshal22 Feb 195009 Dec 1951
3Sir Gerald Ernest GibbsAir Marshal10 Dec 195131 Mar 1954
4Subroto MukerjeeAir MarshalApr 1, 1954Nov 8, 1960
5A. M. EngineerAir MarshalDec 1, 1960July 31, 1964
6Arjan SinghThe first Air Chief Marshal Aug 1, 1964July 15, 1969
7Pratap Chandra LalAir Chief MarshalJuly 16, 1969Jan 15, 1973
8Om Prakash MehraAir Chief MarshalJan 16, 1973Jan 31, 1976
9Hrushikesh MoolgavkarAir Chief MarshalFeb 1, 1976Aug 31, 1978
10I. H. LatifAir Chief MarshalSep 1, 1978Aug 31, 1981
11Dilbagh SinghAir Chief MarshalSep 1, 1981Sep 4, 1984
12Lakshman Madhav KatreAir Chief MarshalSep 5, 1984July 1, 1985
13D. A. La FontaineAir Chief MarshalJuly 3, 1985July 31, 1988
14S.K. MehraAir Chief MarshalAug 1, 1988July 31, 1991
15Nirmal Chandra SuriAir Chief MarshalAug 1, 1991July 31, 1993
16S. K. KaulAir Chief MarshalAug 1, 1993Dec 31, 1995
17S. K. SareenAir Chief MarshalJan 1, 1996Dec 31, 1998
18A. Y. TipnisAir Chief MarshalJan 1, 1999Dec 31, 2001
19Srinivasapuram KrishnaswamyAir Chief MarshalDec 31, 2001Dec 31, 2004
20Shashindra Pal TyagiAir Chief MarshalDec 31, 2004Mar 31, 2007
21Fali Homi MajorAir Chief MarshalMar 31, 2007Mar 31, 2009
22Pradeep Vasant NaikAir Chief MarshalMar 31, 2009July 31, 2011
23Norman Anil Kumar BrowneAir Chief MarshalAug 1, 2011Dec 31, 2013
24Arup RahaAir Chief MarshalDec 31, 2013Dec 31, 2016
25.Birender Singh DhanoaAir Chief MarshalDec 31, 2016Sep 30, 2019
26.Rakesh Kumar Singh BhadauriaAir Chief MarshalSep 30, 2019Sep 30,2021
27.Vivek Ram ChaudhariAir Chief MarshalSep 30,2021Incumbent
Editorial Team
SSBToSuccess Editorial Team is passionate to deliver the quality knowledge and information to you. The team always runs in-depth research before delivering information at your doorstep. With a team of professionals, the team works to create content that helps you get Recommended in SSB.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Subscribe to Email

Enter your email address:

Hot Topics

Related Articles