Interesting Facts about Corporal Jyoti Prakash Nirala, Honored with Ashok Chakra

Garud Commando Jyoti Prakash Nirala was posthumously honored with the Ashok Chakra on 69th Republic Day. On the Republic Day 2018 Parade, the supreme sacrifice of Indian Air Force Corporal Jyoti Nirala was recalled and was presented with the Gallantry award. To receive the award, his wife and mother were humbly invited to the Republic day event where they were presented the Ashok Chakra for the brave son of India.

Jyoti Prakash Nirala was martyred on 18th November 2017 while dealing with the terrorists of Lashkar-e-Toiba (LeT) in Hajin area of J&K. Remembering his bravery and sacrifice, here are some interesting facts about Corporal Jyoti.

Interesting Facts about Martyred Corporal Jyoti Prakash Nirala

Jyoti Joined Indian Air Force in 2005: Corporal Jyoti Prakash Nirala joined the Indian Air Force in 2005 as an Airman. He was martyred at the age of 31 and was a Corporal in the IAF. He was survived by his wife, a daughter and three unmarried sisters.

Jyoti Prakash was a Garud Commando: Garud is the Special Task Force of Indian Air Force Special that handles sensitive operations which needs the high level of strategy and bravery.

He is Third IAF men to Receive highest Gallantry Medal:  Garud Commando Jyoti Prakash Nirala is the third Indian Air Force man who is honored with the highest gallantry award. Before this, Indian Air Force Pilot Rakesh Sharma was honored with Ashok Chakra in 1984 and Flight Lieutenant Suhas Biswas was honored in 1952.

He Killed Two Terrorists during the Operation: During the exchange of bullets, he was hit by the volley of small arms. But even being hit by multiple injuries, he continued to fire his gun and was successful in killing two terrorists

Jyoti Killed Nephew of LeT Chief:  During the operation against the terrorists, two of them were killed by the Corporal Jyoti Prakash Nirala. Interestingly one of those terrorists was Owaid alias Obama. He was the nephew of LeT Chief Zaki-ur-Rehman Lakhvi, who was the mastermind of 26/11 Mumbai Attack.

He is 1st IAF man to get Highest Bravery Award for a Ground Combat:  When Corporal Nirala was martyred he was attached with the Indian Army and was acting on intelligence inputs where they surrounded a house in Chandragarh village in Hajin. This makes him the first Indian Air Force man to be honored with the highest peacetime military award for a ground combat.

Basic Information about Ashok Chakra:

Ashok Chakra is the highest peacetime military award given to those who showed the valor and bravery or laid their lives on the battlefield. There are multiple categories of people who are eligible to receive the Ashok Chakra Award. The eligible categories of persons are:

  • The soldiers of Indian Army, Navy and Indian Air Force are eligible to receive Ashok chakra. Apart from this, the personnel of the Reserve Forces, Territorial Army, or any other lawfully constituted forces are also eligible to be honored with this gallantry award.
  • Members of the Nursing Services of the Armed Forces.
  • Civilian citizens are also eligible to receive the Ashok Chakra. Citizens in all walks of life and members of Police Forces including Central Para-Military Forces and Railway Protection Force (RPF) can also be honored with this gallantry award.

Stay updated with all the latest defence updates and motivational stories. Follow us on Facebook and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel to watch interesting videos.

I am a Defence Freak who love to write for those who want to SERVE THE COUNTRY with PRIDE. I am currently preparing for Civil Services alongside writing on this website. All I want to say is... HOW'S THE JOSH?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Subscribe to Email

Enter your email address:

Also Read

Related Articles