21 Param Vir Chakra Winners And Their Story of Bravery

Param Vir Chakra is the highest military decoration which is awarded to the Indian Soldiers who showed bravery and valor during wartime. The Param Vir Chakra is abbreviated as PVC. Since Independent, Indian Army has named a large number of soldiers who showed the act of valor and bravery in order to serve the motherland. Till today, Indian Military has awarded Param Vir Chakra to 21 brave soldiers.

A Brief about Param Vir Chakra

The origin of PVC somewhere lies in within the tenure of East India Company in India. In the initial days of 1834, a formal award was initiated by Lord William Bentinck. In 1902, the order of Merit was renamed as ‘Indian Order of Merit’. Soon after World War II, the award was categorized between senior officers, junior officers, and enlisted men. After the Independence of India from British rule, all the British awards were replaced with the new Award to recognize the bravery of war heroes.

To replace the British award system, then PM Jawahar Lal Nehru proposed to introduce a gallantry award for the ongoing J&K conflicts. As a result, in 1948, the new awards were proposed as Param Vir Chakra (PVC), Maha Vir Chakra (MVC) and Vir Chakra (VrC). Till now, the Param Vir Chakra has been awarded 21 times. The interesting fact about this gallantry award is that there are 3 living legends who have received this award.

List of Param Vir Chakra Awardees:

Below is the list of 21 brave war heroes of Indian military who received PVC award.

Major Somnath Sharma:

Even with a plastered arm, he led his army to fight the enemy attaching on Badgam aerodrome and Srinagar. Being unable to take control of the gun, he supported his team by filling the magazines. He was martyred in such a way that it inspired his troop to fight for six hours.

Naik Jadu Nath Singh:

The Naik of 1 Rajput was holding the forward post. When attacked by the enemies, he suffered multiple injuries. Somehow he managed to save his troop but unfortunately martyred due to multiple bullets in his body.

2nd Lieutenant Rama Raghoba Rane:

On Naushera-Rajouri road, brave Rama Raghoba Rane cleared the mines and roadblocks for the tanks. During this, he faced multiple wounds but without heeding on them, he continued to clear the track for tanks by removing mines.

Company Havildar Piru Singh Shekhawat:

This brave soldier of 6 Rajputana Rifles occupied an enemy post. But as he moved ahead to capture second enemy post, a grenade hit him. Even then, he managed to destroy that bunker but unfortunately succumbed to death.

Lance Naik Karam Singh:

Brave soldier of 1 Sikh, Lance Naik Karam Singh commanded a post in Tithwal sector in J&K. He was then attached with 8 consecutive strikes. He bravely replied them but faced multiple wounds. Being injured, he managed to kill 2 enemy soldiers.

Captain Gurbachan Singh Salaria:

Being a part of UN Force, Captain Gurbachan killed 40 enemies with two of their cars. While blocking the enemies, he was hit by multiple bullets.

Major Dhan Singh Thapa:

Major Thapa was posted in Ladakh in 1/8 Gorkha Rifles when he was attacked by China. He killed many Chinese soldiers in face to face battle. But he was later overpowered and made prisoner. He was initially considered to be martyred in the battle but was later discovered to be a prisoner of China who was released from POW camp. He then resumed his military career.

Subedar Joginder Singh Sahnan:

Subedar Joginder Singh of 1 Sikh was posted in Tongpeng La where he faces simultaneous attacks by China. In this, he faced multiple wounds. But regardless of his wounds, he holds the machine gun and killed an ample number of enemies.

Major Shaitan Singh:

Major Shaitan Singh, Param Vir Chakra
Major Shaitan Singh, Param Vir Chakra

Major Shaitan Singh of 13 Kumaon Regiment was in Ladakh when he faced heavy attack from Chinese end. After being hit, he ordered his men to leave him there, where he martyred due to severe injuries.

Read more about Major Shaitan Singh.

Company Quartermaster Abdul Hamid:

During his posting in Cheema, Khem Karan, Abdul Hamid faced the battle with Pakistan Army. He came out with his anti-tank recoil-less rifle and mounted on his jeep. During his counterattack, he got multiple injuries and was mortally wounded.

Lieutenant Colonel Ardeshir Burzorji Tarapore:

Lt Col Tarapore was tasked to deliver armored thrust while the troop was capturing Phillora. He was leading the tank battle during Indo-Pak war. Later he was mortally wounded and martyred.

Lance Naik Albert Ekka:

During Indo-Pak war of 1971, Lance Naik Ekka was ordered to capture an enemy post. Before being martyred, he overpowered an enemy bunker, captured an LMG, and placed a grenade in the enemy bunker. During this, he suffered multiple injuries.

Flying Officer Nirmal Jit Singh Sekhon:

Being the first and only Flying officer to receive Param Vir Chakra, Nirmal Jit Singh was successful in destroying two enemy aircrafts during an attack in Srinagar. But unfortunately, his plane was crashed.

2nd Lieutenant Arun Khetarpal:

Khetarpal Auditorium IMA Dehradun
Khetarpal Auditorium IMA Dehradun

When Arun was on the way to build a bridge across a river in 1971 war, he killed many enemies, captured soldiers and destroyed many tanks. But during this, his tank was also hit, resulting in multiple wounds.

Major Hoshiar Singh:

Major Singh of Grenadier Regiment faced counter-attack which he replied with continuous firing from a machine gun. He rushed to a machine gun pit and controlled the machine-gun, killing many enemies. He chased the enemies until the ceasefire was declared.

Naib Subedar Bana Singh:

He is one of the living Param Vir Chakra awardees. To tackle the Pakistani infiltrators in 1987, Nb Sub Bana Singh threw multiple grenades, moved trench to trench to clear all the intruder’s post.

Major Ramaswamy Parameshwaran:

During Operation Pawan in Sri Lanka, Major Parameshwaran he was encircled by the enemies and was shot multiple times. Even being hit directly in the chest, he snatched the gun from an enemy and killed him with a head-shot.

Lieutenant Manoj Kumar Pandey:

During the Kargil war in 1999, he was ordered to recapture Jaubar Top. Lt Pandey killed the last enemy and achieved his goal; he faced many bullets but continued to surge ahead.

Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav:

He is the 2nd living Param Vir Chakra awardee. He was ordered to capture 3 Tiger Hill. Even after he was hit by 3 bullets, he killed 4 enemies by throwing a grenade. For this, he climbed the 60 feet hill with the bullets and other injuries.

Rifleman Sanjay Kumar:

He is the 3rd living awardee of Param Vir Chakra. He was tasked to capture a point of Ladakh’s Mushkoh valley. He moved ahead, crawling towards the enemy and take control of enemy machine gun, killing 3 enemy soldiers.

Captain Vikram Batra:

Captain Vikram Batra is the 21st awardee of Param Vir Chakra. He captured peak 5140 after taking control of Point 4750 and Point 4875. While trying to save a fellow soldier, he was hit by the enemy.  He martyred after killing 3 enemy soldiers during the 1999 Kargil war.

The selfless sacrifice showcased by all these Brave soldiers will always work as an inspiration for the youth and Defense Aspirants. All these 21 Param Vir Chakra recipients will always live in our heart.

We All Salute You. JAI HIND!

I am a Defence Freak who love to write for those who want to SERVE THE COUNTRY with PRIDE. I am currently preparing for Civil Services alongside writing on this website. All I want to say is... HOW'S THE JOSH?


  1. Salute to all the Brave heroes and may God always comfort their families and help them in difficult times. Jai Hind.
    @Victor – Keep up the good work.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Subscribe to Email

Enter your email address:

Also Read

Related Articles