Gallantry Awards 2018: 1 Kirti Chakra, 1 Ashok Chakra And 14 Shaurya Chakra Honours

Gallantry Awards 2018 1 Kirti Chakra, 1 Ashok Chakra And 14 Shaurya Chakra Honours

On the occasion of 69th Republic Day, the Bravehearts of India were honored with gallantry awards by the Honorable President Ram Nath Kovind. A total of 1 Ashok Chakra, 1 Kirti Chakra and 14 Shaurya Chakra were presented to the brave soldiers of Indian Army, Indian Air Force, and CRPF.

Ashok Chakra Awardee

Awardee NameDefence Force
Corporal Jyoti Prakash NiralaIndian Air Force

Garud Commando Jyoti Prakash Nirala was posthumously honored with the Ashok Chakra on 69th Republic Day. On the Republic Day 2018 Parade, the supreme sacrifice of Indian Air Force Corporal Jyoti Nirala was recalled and was presented with the Gallantry award. To receive the award, his wife and mother were humbly invited to the Republic day event where they were presented the Ashok Chakra for the brave son of India.

Tribute to Martyr Jyoti Prakash Nirala, Honored with Ashok Chakra. FEEL PROUD TO SHARE THIS VIDEO

FEEL PROUD TO SHARE THIS VIDEO #MartyrJyotiPrakash #AshokChakra

Posted by SSBToSuccess on Saturday, January 27, 2018

Jyoti Prakash Nirala was martyred on 18th November 2017 while dealing with the terrorists of Lashkar-e-Toiba (LeT) in Hajin area of J&K. Remembering his bravery and sacrifice, here are some interesting facts about Corporal Jyoti.

Kirti Chakra Awardee

Awardee NameDefence Force
Major Vijayant BishtIndian Army

Shaurya Chakra Awardee

Awardee NameDefence Force
Major Akhil Raj RVIndian Army
Captain Rohit ShuklaIndian Army
Captain Abhinav ShuklaIndian Army
Captain Pradeep Shoury AryaTerritorial Army
Havildar Mubarak AliIndian Army
Havildar Rabindra ThapaIndian Army
Naik Narendra SinghIndian Army
Lance Naik Badher HussainIndian Army
Paratrooper ManchIndian Army
Corporal Nilesh Kumar Nayan (Posthumous)Indian Air Force
Sergeant Khairnar Milind Kishor (Posthumous)Indian Air Force
Corporal Devendra MehtaIndian Air Force
Sub-inspector Riyaz Alam AnsariCRPF
Assistant commandant Vikash JakharCRPF

Major Rohit Shukla: Captain Rohit Shukla (now Major) was honoured with Shaurya Chakra for presenting the example of bravery and courage, taking a lead on terrorists and killing some of the hardcore Hizbul Mujahideen terrorist.

Hizbul Mujahideen Terrorist Sameer Tiger released a video challenging Major Shukla. Major Shukla in response accepted his challenge and killed Sameer Tiger in his hometown. Currently posted as Major in 44 Rashtriya Rifles he leads the operation to encounter Sameer Tiger. On 30th of April, he with his team succeed in closing the chapter of Hizbul Commander Sameer Tiger and one of his associate Aaqib Khan in Drubgam village, Pulwama.

Major Pradeep Shoury Arya: Major Pradeep Shaurya Arya has become the first member fo IRS (Indian Revenue Service) to be awarded Shaurya Chakra. He becomes IRS Officer in 2004 but his passion to serve the motherland made him join Territorial Army in 2008. Later he joined Parachute Regiment (Special Forces) where he encountered terrorist in Jammu & Kashmir on 28th may 2017 and was honoured with Gallantry award for his bravery.